Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Cam'ron - Purple Haze (2004) (320)

Remember when Dipset was running shit? When purple furs accompanied "no homo" and vice versa? When 8th graders in Harlem imagined a better educational system? Although the Diplomats released plenty of ill-conceived, even downright irrational music throughout the years (Dipset X-Mas for starters) the shiny, anthemic style which Cam and his crew perfected is at its peak on this album. Cam'ron's extended and at times bizarre rhyme choices are in delicious harmony with the absolutely ludicrous claims regarding a) cocaine and b) wealth. Almost every track is a winner, but highlights include pre-asshole Kanye production on "Down and Out" and "Dipset Forever", the anthem-turned-storytelling-rap track "Harlem Streets", the gallant "Killa Cam" and of course the single that started more than a year's hype, "Get 'Em Girls". This album is also a reminder why hip hop skits are at once unbearable and necessary (e.g. "I'm A Chicken Head")


1. Intro
2. More Gangsta Music (feat. Juelz Santana)
3. Get Down
4. Welcome to Purple Haze (Skit)
5. Killa Cam
6. Leave Me Alone pt. 2
7. Down and Out (feat. Kanye West & Syleena Johnson)
8. Harlem Streets
9. Rude Boy (Skit)
10. Girls (feat. Mona Lisa)
11. I'm A Chicken Head (Skit)
12. Soap Opera
13. O.T. (Skit)
14. Bubble Music
15. More Reasons (feat. Jaheim)
16. The Block (Skit)
17. The Dope Man (feat. Jim Jones)
18. Family Ties (feat. Nicole Wray)
19. Adrenaline (feat. Twista & Psycho Drama)
20. Hey Lady (feat. Freekey Zeekey)
21. Shake (feat. J.R. Writer)
22. Get 'Em Girls (feat. J.R. Writer)
23. Dipset Forever
24. Take 'Em To Church (feat. Juelz Santana & Un Kasa)


No comments:

Post a Comment