Thursday, June 10, 2010

Otis Redding - The Dock Of The Bay (1968) (320)

Is there a more perfect time to listen to "(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay" than summer? Otis tenderly sings about "watching the tide roll away". He did make the long trip from Georgia to San Francisco, after all, so a little relaxation is due to him. The stunning single was recorded just days before Otis' death in a plane crash, which also took the lives of The Bar-Kays, his backing band. Much of the album's sound comes thanks to guitarist and songwriter Steve Cropper, member of the Stax house band Booker T. & the M.G.'s. Cropper himself put the tracklist together, and the flow of his selection is ideal. His tasty guitar licks are matched with catchy horn punches. Also, Carla Thomas clowning on Otis on "Tramp" is fuggin' hilarious.


1. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
2. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
3. Let Me Come On Home
4. Open The Door
5. Don't Mess With Cupid
6. The Glory Of Love
7. I'm Coming Home To See About You
8. Tramp (With Carla Thomas)
9. The Hucklebuck
10. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
11. Ole Man Trouble



  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. wonderful artist.. re-up would be nice :)

  3. I'm sorry, but once The Man takes these things down, we can't put 'em back up.