Thursday, April 15, 2010

João Gilberto - João Gilberto (1961) (320)

This is an early and fantastic self-titled release from Bossa Nova legend João Gilberto. With expert accompaniment and arrangements from the other Father of Bossa, Antônio Carlos Jobim, and Walter Wanderley e Seu Conjunto. The opening rendition is of one of my favorite Brazilian standards ever, "O Samba da Minha Terra". Gilberto employs his signature percussive singing (I would say its scat-like if I didn't know that would scare you all off) and expert syncopation to rethink the song. The rest of the album follows in these footsteps, with Gilberto's casual expertise lacing intricate technique with the expert ad deceptively difficult arrangements of Jobim. Most of these songs, if they hadn't already, quickly entered the Bossa canon after this album's release. "O Amor Em Paz" feels almost like a Bossa manifesto - sad, beautiful, complex, short, and relaxed. Equally appropriate to play at the moment of your next heartbreak or your next picnic in the park, this record is yet another confirmation of Jobim and Gilberto's total mastery and influence over the genre.

1. O Samba da Minha Terra
2. O Barquinho
3. Bolinha de Papel
4. Saudade da Bahia
5. A Primeira Vez
6. O Amore em Paz
7. Você e Eu
8. Trem de Ferro (Trenzinho)
9. Coisa Mais Linda
10. Presente De Natal
11. Insensatez
10. Este Seu Olhar

Odeon Brasil, 1961

Tracks 1, 3, 4, and 8 With Walter Waverley e Seu Conjunto.
Tracks 2, 5-7, 9-12 with Antônio Carlos Jobim (arrangements and piano).


1 comment:

  1. hello! you have a fantastic blog! keep up the great posts :-)