Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Love - Forever Changes (1967)

Because it's the only Love album I have, I can't speak on how this album fits into the group's catalog, but Forever Changes feels like a special album. It embraces a full, lush production sound (comparable to something like The Zombies' Odessey and Oracle). Strings and horns are abundant - I love the little mariachi break in "Alone Again Or". And the sad irony of the lyrics that follow: "I think that people are the greatest fun, and I will be alone again tonight my dear". Forever Changes feels like a peak inside Arthur Lee's head, full of introspective thoughts as well as commentary on mid-60's society.


1. Alone Again Or
2. A House Is Not A Motel
3. Andmoreagain
4. The Daily Planet
5. Old Man
6. The Red Telephone
7. Maybe The People Would Be The Times Or Between Clark And Hilldale
8. Live And Let Live
9. The Good Humor Man He Sees Everything Like This
10. Bummer In The Summer
11. You Set The Scene


1 comment:

  1. Well, if you're only going to have one Love album....
    Just wrote about this ridiculously great album too on my blog. Rock on man!