Friday, January 8, 2010

The Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On (1975) (320)

The Isleys are, to me, one of the most important groups for the second half of the twentieth century, and you can look forward to posts of a few more of their essential recordings over the next month or so. One of the most recognizable Isleys albums and the first to reach #1 on the Billboards, The Heat Is On is one of the the group's tightest releases. Six tracks of hard funk ("The Heat is On" and the classic "Fight the Power" stand out), rocking guitar by Ernie, and sexy soul ballads like "Sensuality" make for a concise album which in many ways represents the perfect convergence which defines the Isley Brothers, their musical integrity crossing with sincere popular appeal. This version features a live version of "Fight The Power" as well.


1. Fight The Power (Parts 1 & 2)
2. The Heat Is On (Parts 1 & 2)
3. Hope You Feel Better Love (Parts 1 & 2)
4. For The Love Of You (Parts 1 & 2)
5. Sensuality (Parts 1 & 2)
6. Make Me Say It Again Girl (Parts 1 & 2)
7. Fight The Power (Parts 1 & 2) (Live)

T-Neck/Epic, 1975


1 comment: