Sunday, November 22, 2009

Miles Davis - Workin' With The Miles Davis Quintet (1956) (320)

This 1956 recording features Miles and his first Classic Quintet: John Coltrane, Red Garland, Paul Chambers, and Philly Joe Jones. Miles' famous Harmon mute playing can be heard on two pieces: "It Never Entered My Mind" (also covered by Frank Sinatra on In The Wee Small Hours"), as well as the standard "In Your Own Sweet Way". On "It Never Entered My Mind", Red Garland's piano solo is sandwiched by Miles's beautiful stylization of the melody. The ballad exemplifies Miles' distinct playing - his tone and style are instantly recognizable even playing a simple melody. Two blues numbers are featured: "Trane's Blues", composed by John Coltrane, followed by "Ahmad's Blues", composed by one of Miles' favorite pianists, Ahmad Jamal. The album has its intermission with "The Theme" (Take 1), and concludes with "The Theme" (Take 2). The following year, Trane would release his debut for Prestige.


1. It Never Entered My Mind
2. Four
3. In Your Own Sweet Way
4. The Theme (Take 1)
5. Trane's Blues
6. Ahmad's Blues
7. Half Nelson
8. The Theme (Take 2)


Miles Davis, trumpet (except #6)
John Coltrane, tenor saxophone (except #6)
Red Garland, piano
Paul Chambers, bass
Philly Joe Jones, drums

Supervision by Bob Weinstock
Recorded by Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ; May 11, 1956. ("Half Nelson" recorded October 26, 1956.)
Cover photo - Esmond Edwards
Mastering engineer - Shigeo Miyamoto under supervision of Tamaki Beck for JVC Studios
This album is remastered using 20-bit A/D converter with digital K2 Interface.



1 comment: